Earn 1 Airpoints Dollar™ for every $100 you spend

Explore Bookme forRotorua & Taupo

Airpoints

Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

BEST Schedule Around! Departing Tongariro National Park, explore the Tongariro Crossing, Tongariro Northern Circuit or Whakapapa Village!

Highlights

  • World Famous Tongariro Crossing Experience
  • 6am-7am-8am-9am-10am - No need to book a return time!
  • Returning to National Park 1.30pm -2.30pm -3.30pm -4.3pm -5.30pm

Described as one of the oldest National Parks on the planet called "Dual Heritage Tongariro National Park" its located in the Central North Island, in the Ruapheu district.

This amazing area has 3 active volcanoes and you get the chance to explore them by foot.

There is abundance of short walks, day hikes and multi-day hikes. The choice is yours to be as free as you like.

We are based in National Park Village overlooking our majestic volcanoes - Meaning we are super close!

We have various departure times going to the Tongariro Crossing/ Tongariro Northern Circuit & Whakapapa Village.

No need to book a return time!

Per person $40.00

What's included

  • Transport, & Great bus ride

Duration

  • Allow approximately 7 hours for the whole experience

Location

  • Pick Up: KIWI Camp, 18 Findlay Street, Park and Ride, National Park Village

Restrictions

  • Minimum age: 7

Notes

  • Note: We make a call on whether the morning of the hike, we delay the starting times to suit our variable weather patterns.

    Departures are at 6am-7am-8am-9am-10.30am, returning to National Park 1.30pm-2.30pm-3.30pm-4.30pm-6pm.

Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

4.5

58 reviews

Showing all 58 authenticated Bookme reviews

Joy from Singapore wrote on 06 April 2018

Share Link

Good Service

Pick up point was very near our accomodation and it was on time. Coming back was easy too. We took the 7am shuttle there and the 4:30pm shuttle back.

This review helped me

From Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

Thank you we do have slick service with buses in and out all the time from National Park Village to Tongariro Alpine Crossing

Abbey Skilton from New Zealand wrote on 21 January 2018

Share Link

Tongariro Crossing shuttles

Great company to travel to the crossing with. Unfortunately we ran late for our 6am shuttle but they were very accommodating and we got to travel on the 7am instead. The drivers were really friendly and welcoming.

This review helped me

From Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

Yahoo! and lovely to hear we are ticking the right boxes. The return shuttles if you are running late yes this correct you can catch the next bus no problems at all. You can also roll over your booking to another day - as our weather can sometimes be better later on. Its the views is what you area ll chasing. we happy to be flexiable.

niamh from New Zealand wrote on 20 November 2017

Share Link

Informative and efficient

Great shuttle service from the accom in national park , easy to book and use, informative overview at the start of the crossing and updates on the current weather etc from staff. only downside was we finished the crossing with plenty of time and had to wait 2 hrs for a shuttle as they start the return from 1.30 pm :)

This review helped me

From Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

Thank you for feedback. We operate all departures times. We are finding hikers dont noticed the bus when it pulls up as its a different bus to what they came on. Our buses come every hour 1.30-2.30-3.30-4.30-6pm. Its a same you missed the bus enjoy your travels in New Zealand.

Abderrahmane Bellil from France wrote on 19 March 2020

Share Link

Good trail

Long but very good expérience

This review helped me

From Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

Yes the hikes doe stake 6-8 hours over an active volcano - very rewarding though

Ben from United Kingdom wrote on 04 March 2020

Share Link

Don't Use!

Don't use Tongariro Crossing Shuttles....our experience of them was of a very poor service and unsafe, at a high cost. At the bottom we reccomend alternatives. We were the first people on the first bus of the morning. The journey out was fine. Nice bus, though the seatbelts were faulty. First bus back was due at 1.30pm, which is too late, people are gathering at the finish by 12. We waited patiently for the bus, looking at every bus which arrived in the small parking area, but none branded Tongariro Crossing Shuttles. We noticed that some other people who'd been on our bus earlier had now left. Another guy with us phoned the company who said that the bus had been and gone, with a different company name on it. We had certainly not been given any warning to look for a bus under a different company name. Very unhelpful! We waited for over for 2 hours, while everyone with the other companies has long been collected. We saw a bus arrive branded 'Tongariro Volcanic Adventures' (another name we'd seen online) and when we asked, this was the bus we needed. We had seen this bus at 1.30 but dismissed it as another company. This was raised with the driver who dismissed us with... 'oh, people love to complain' and admitted that people say this all the time, but it clearly hasn't been addressed in any way. Drivers from other companies had walked around the gathering of walkers and ensured that they had everyone, but not our driver. After 2 and a half hours sat in a baking hot dusty car park, we were very disappointed! The bus back had no seatbelts at all, and the driver was texting and making phone calls while driving. He mounted the verge a couple of times. Summit Shuttles and Tongariro Expeditions seem to have very regular and bigger busses....go with them instead! We contacted Tongariro Crossing Shuttles to express these concerns, which could have been easily resolved. An apology to us would have sufficed, and the confusion would be solved by the morning driver just letting people know to watch out for a different bus. We didn't receive a reply.

This review helped me

From Tongariro Crossing Shuttles - Ex Tongariro National Park

Thank you for placing your feedback online. You have emailed us directly also which we have responded to you. Yes we do lease buses which have didn't names- our drivers are in uniforms Our emergency cards have the words Tongariro Volcanic adventures on there too as your pick up bus. Correct our buses do not need seatbelts we are rated as a 4 star safety rating Our 1.30pm bus collected 22 people sorry to hear you didnt hear or see the bus driver. Mounting the verge is weird as our highways do not have curbing nor does National Park Village. Thanks for the photo. Sorry to hear you have many points to complain about. Its seems you enjoyed the hike and bus ride out just not the ride back

10:00 a.m.Thursday 13 July

Spaces Left

Qualmark certification

What does Qualmark mean for you?

When you see the Qualmark logo, your activity of choice is endorsed by New Zealand Tourism’s official quality assurance organisation and backed by leaders in the industry. It’s your trusted guide to iconic activities and experiences that are awarded for their exceptionally high level of quality, safety and sustainability.

This activity has a Qualmark Award

This award identifies a business with a high level of professionalism, a keen awareness of the impact it has on the environment and a commitment to a customer centric approach.

This award is evidence of a sophisticated tourism business that consistently exceeds visitor expectations. Their proactive leadership and management ensure the business’s focus on continuously improving their economic, social and environmental performance to create genuine, constantly evolving and sustainable tourism experiences.

This award recognises the best sustainable tourism businesses in New Zealand. It denotes exceptional customer experiences at the heart of everything the company does. This business is leading the way in making the New Zealand tourism industry a world class sustainable visitor destination.

Ask a Question

Register for Bookme now

Create your Bookme account today and start keeping track of your bookings and favourite deals.

Sign Up for Bookme

Login instantly with Facebook

Login with your Facebook account.

Or with your existing Bookme login

Sample menu

Add to list

Register for Bookme now

Create your Bookme account today and start keeping track of your bookings and favourite deals.

Sign Up for Bookme

Login instantly with Facebook

Login with your Facebook account.

Or with your existing Bookme login