Earn 1 Airpoints Dollar™ for every $100 you spend

Explore Bookme forRotorua & Taupo

Airpoints

Wairakei Terraces - Thermal Hot Pools

Experience Wairakei Terraces hot pools - a geothermal wonderland with healing and curing properties and one of New Zealand's premier geothermal locations...

Highlights

  • One of New Zealand's premier geothermal locations!
  • The perfect way to unwind and relax
  • Thermal waters boast a range of healing properties including detoxifying and relieving aches and pains

Come and revitalize your mind, body and soul at Wairakei Terraces hot pools - A geothermal wonderland located at the heart of the North Island.

Maori have bathed in the waters of Wairakei for generations and its healing and therapeutic benefits are now receiving worldwide acclaim in the field of natural holistic therapies.

The waters, rich in silica, sulphate, magnesium, potassium and a whole host of other valuable minerals, can assist with a whole array of health ailments.

Positioned underneath the silica terraces and a beautiful waterfall, the pools dazzling blue waters provide the perfect surroundings for the ultimate in rest and relaxation.

Let life's daily stresses run free from your mind as you bath and hear the melodic calls of native birds in their natural setting of beautiful cascading water's, breathtaking gushing geyser's and billowing steam's.

Come and experience for yourself Wairakei's remarkable healing and curing properties at one of New Zealand's premier geothermal locations.

Per Person $25.00 (14 years and over)

What's included

  • Entry to Wairakei Terraces and Thermal Hot Pools

Location

  • State Highway 1, Wairakei 3377

Restrictions

  • Minimum age: 14

Notes

  • Location: Wairakei is on the Thermal Explorer Highway, just 5 mins drive north of Lake Taupo. Adjacent to State Highway 1 and 5, bordering the Geothermal Steamfield and across the Road from Wairakei Resort Hotel. 50 mins drive from Rotorua

    IMPORTANT: Tickets are strictly non transferable & non refundable. Wairakei Thermal Pools are age restricted to 14 years+ only

    If staff deem a person to be under the age of 14, they will request proof of age (passport, birth certificate). If that cannot be provided, then entry will be declined.

Available Bookings from July 15 to July 21

Change Dates

All prices are shown in NZD ($)

Wed 15 Jul
Thu 16 Jul
Fri 17 Jul
Sat 18 Jul
Sun 19 Jul
Mon 20 Jul
Tue 21 Jul

8spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

6spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

3spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

7spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

8spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

2spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

6spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$12.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$25.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$15.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

8spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$17.50

8spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

5spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

10spaces priced from:

  • Per Person$20.00

Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

4.7

701 reviews

Showing all 701 authenticated Bookme reviews

Sarah Wallwork from New Zealand wrote on 23 July 2019

Share Link

Amazing!

Incredible setting, rejuvenating waters and relaxing experience. We went back twice in two weeks and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area. Would advise if you have sensitive feet to take jandals or similar footwear to walk down the path to the pools. Probably not suitable for anyone who doesn't like to bathe in close proximity to others.

This review helped me

Jappykimmy from New Zealand wrote on 14 June 2019

Share Link

We enjoyed it!

We love it. Very relaxing. A must when you are around the area! Will recommend.

This review helped me

Christine from United Kingdom wrote on 02 April 2019

Share Link

Brilliant way to get out of the rain

It was absolutely pelting down so we decided on a morning g here we were not disappointed it was beautiful and almost had the place to ourselves. Great value and such a lovely setting. I have honestly never been to a place like it.

This review helped me

Willington from New Zealand wrote on 03 May 2018

Share Link

The good and Bad about Wairakei Terraces

This is the second time that we have the pleasure to experience the thermal pools and this time was at night time which is even better. The place es amazing and very relaxing. But is sad to see such a good place is overshadowed by the really bad and unprofessional manners of the front desk girl; who really doesn't know how to talk to customers. And sadly this is not the first time that this happen, our fist time there was also a 2 start rate experience (when it should be a 5 start) because of the same person. :)

This review helped me

Dunja Hassencamp from New Zealand wrote on 19 February 2018

Share Link

Review

Very expensive, geared towards tourists that dont know the alternatives. Suggest anyone wanting a dip in a hot pool to askt the locals for alternative spots, free of charge. Any toutist look up bookme and get a voucher, that way its somewhat affordable. As to cleanliness top notch and good facilities. Reception staff very friendly , one of them was just playing on the phone not being interested in customers at all. Not a great look. The walk was good. Overall experience 3/5.

This review helped me

From Wairakei Terraces - Thermal Hot Pools

Dunja, Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a mostly good overall experience. Our prices are quite reasonable in comparison to some other places of similar facilities. Especially reasonable when booked online as you did... ? Mobile phones are a necessary part of our receptionists job at times, we have massage therapists who work on a call out basis and this is how we sometimes have to communicate with them when they don't answer calls. I am hoping this was the case on the day although I cannot guarantee this was in fact what they were doing. Again, thank you for your review . We do appreciate the feedback.

10:00 a.m.Thursday 13 July

Spaces Left

Per Person 14 years and over

    Qualmark certification

    What does Qualmark mean for you?

    When you see the Qualmark logo, your activity of choice is endorsed by New Zealand Tourism’s official quality assurance organisation and backed by leaders in the industry. It’s your trusted guide to iconic activities and experiences that are awarded for their exceptionally high level of quality, safety and sustainability.

    This activity has a Qualmark Award

    This award identifies a business with a high level of professionalism, a keen awareness of the impact it has on the environment and a commitment to a customer centric approach.

    This award is evidence of a sophisticated tourism business that consistently exceeds visitor expectations. Their proactive leadership and management ensure the business’s focus on continuously improving their economic, social and environmental performance to create genuine, constantly evolving and sustainable tourism experiences.

    This award recognises the best sustainable tourism businesses in New Zealand. It denotes exceptional customer experiences at the heart of everything the company does. This business is leading the way in making the New Zealand tourism industry a world class sustainable visitor destination.

    Ask a Question

    Register for Bookme now

    Create your Bookme account today and start keeping track of your bookings and favourite deals.

    Sign Up for Bookme

    Login instantly with Facebook

    Login with your Facebook account.

    Or with your existing Bookme login

    Sample menu

    Add to list

    Register for Bookme now

    Create your Bookme account today and start keeping track of your bookings and favourite deals.

    Sign Up for Bookme

    Login instantly with Facebook

    Login with your Facebook account.

    Or with your existing Bookme login