Earn 1 Airpoints Dollar™ for every $100 you spend
search

Explore Bookme forSydney

Airpoints

Canberra Day Tour - Ex Sydney - Colourful Trips

Join us for a fascinating day tour of Canberra and it’s world-class attractions!

Explore the rich history of this fantastic city and find out why Canberra is unlike any other capital city in Australia.

Departing Sydney, we’ll take you over the mountains and bushland as we embark on a diverse and simply unforgettable tour of one of the world’s most modern and progressive cities.

With so many things to see and do in Canberra, as well as the highlights listed, we give you almost 2 hours free time to explore your choice of two optional attractions*.

If you want the ultimate Canberra experience this is the tour for you!

 

Highlights Include:

National Parliament House

Visit the heart of Australian democracy as our guide takes you through this architectural masterpiece costing $1.1 billion.

Australian War Memorial

A rich insight into the legends of Gallipoli, the ANZACs, and the sacrifices and losses suffered by Australians in past wars fought around the world.

National Embassies

We'll take you to Yarralumla, for a close look at many national embassies, each one unique and designed to reflect aspects of the country's culture.

Mount Ainslie

Take in the impressive 360-degree views over the capital city and surrounding mountain ranges of Canberra.

Captain Cook Memorial Jet

See the spectacular 145 metre high spire of water soaring above Lake Burley Griffin.

 

*The below attractions can be seen in your free time:

National Museum of Australia

Experience Australia’s most modern museum! Controversial and immensely popular, the National Museum of Australia is known for it’s interactive mix of exhibits and displays highlighting Australia's diverse history and culture.

 

National Gallery of Australia

Home to over 120,000 works of art from all around the world, including Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art.

This is an alternative option to visiting the National Museum of Australia in your spare time.

 

Price: $159 Per Person

 

Please Note: Lunch is at your own expense and options are limited, we recommended that you pack your lunch with you.

 

Price Includes

  • Tour of Parliament House
  • Vist to Mt Ainslie
  • Visit to embassy district
  • Visit to Australian War Memorial
  • Option to visit the National Gallery or National Museum of Australia
  • All highlights and activities
  • Friendly and helpful driver/tour guide
  • Comfortable, modern transport
  • Informative commentary
  •  

    What to Bring:

    Booking confirmation - printed or on screen

    Water bottle

    Camera

    Comfortable walking shoes

    Warm/wet weather clothing

    Photo ID

     

    Pick Up Points:

  • Bondi Junction, Meriton Serviced Apartments, 97 Grafton St @ 7.00am
  • Kings Cross - Holiday Inn, 203 Victoria St, Potts Point @ 7.10am
  • Central Station - St Laurence Church, 812 George Street @ 7.25am
  • Circular Quay – The Obelisk, Macquarie Place Park, cnr Loftus St and Bridge St @ 7.45am
  •  

    Returns: Sydney Central 8.30pm (only drop off)

     

    Duration: 12.5 hours

     

    Available Bookings from July 04 to July 10

    Change Dates

    All prices are shown in AUD ($)

    Sun 4 Jul
    Mon 5 Jul
    Tue 6 Jul
    Wed 7 Jul
    Thu 8 Jul
    Fri 9 Jul
    Sat 10 Jul

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$159.00

    8spaces priced from:

    • Per Person$99.00

    Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

    Authenticated Reviews & PhotosAll of our reviews are from people who have booked and paid for this activity thru Bookme

    4.3

    12 reviews

    Showing all 12 authenticated Bookme reviews

    dennisp from Malaysia wrote on 26 February 2020

    Great & Comfortable Trip

    Overall trip is good. Comfortable coach & journey. Could be better if driver don't use mobile phone at all during driving. It's pretty dangerous which could lead to accident.

    Share Link

    This review helped me

    From Canberra Day Tour - Ex Sydney - Colourful Trips

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts (and photos) of your recent day trip to Canberra. It's great to hear you enjoyed the day, and we do apologize for any inconvenience caused by our driver using his phone on the journey. We have very strict rules regarding this, not to mention actual laws now in place in Australia, and we will be speaking to the guide in question to ensure this does not happen again. Cheers

    ailinc from Malaysia wrote on 14 March 2020

    Canberra Day Tour

    Excellent.

    Share Link

    This review helped me

    From Canberra Day Tour - Ex Sydney - Colourful Trips

    G'day Ai Lin Thanks for letting us know you had an excellent day trip to Canberra. Cheers

    Rose from Australia wrote on 01 December 2019

    A day in our capital city

    Excellent day, albeit very tiring. 13 hour round trip from Sydney. Driver was really good and performed the Parliament guided tour, although a couple of factual errors made. Small group of 7 worked really well, with no time wasted, which meant we could cram in as much as possible. Good value for money and would recommend to other Australians with an interest in our history.

    Share Link

    This review helped me

    From Canberra Day Tour - Ex Sydney - Colourful Trips

    G'day Rose Thanks for the 5 stars, and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your day trip to Canberra. Yes, it a long drive, but it sounds like it was worth it, so that's great to hear. Cheers

    Anna from Finland wrote on 06 March 2020

    Mediocre trip to the capital

    Although the trip was an okay way to see some of the sights in Canberra, it seemed a bit unorganized and I did not think that it was worth the money. E.g. in the tour description it was mentioned that we were supposed to get free time in either the National Art Gallery or the National Museum but the guide was not aware of this as he was going to take us only to the Art Gallery without asking. Thankfully, as everybody were more interested in the museum, we were able to change plans and see it. The tour guide also felt a little unorganized and unprepared, and from early on I felt incredibly uncomfortable around him. He mentioned many times that he did not really know what was going on (e.g. if something was closed) and that didn't seem very professional. He did not seem that interested in what he was doing and he did not seem that knowledgeable about the politics (he was touring us in the parliament house). I think it would have been better to tour the sights with a person working in each sight who would know everything about the place and be genuinely interested in explaining about Australia's history and politics. Also, one thing that bothered me was that he put a really strong perfume on himself inside the car so that I really felt it was hard to breathe and got a terrible headache due to the smell. Touring with him was uncomfortable as one could smell him 10 meters away. When I mentioned about it to him, he just said that it is a very expensive perfume and it is the Australian way that one does not want to smell bad. I think that was extremely inconsiderate, ignorant and impolite. Especially, as some people might really be sensitive to fragrances and allergic to them. To summarize, I you're only wanting to see the main attractions quickly and want someone to drive you around, then this might be a good option for you. However, if you are really into history and politics and want to take your time and learn more, then I'd recommend taking a bus to Canberra from Sydney, spend a night in Canberra, and take your time seeing all the interesting places in Canberra. There are free tours in each place and the guides seemed really keen on sharing their broad knowledge, as I was able to listen to some during our free time in attactions.

    Share Link

    This review helped me

    From Canberra Day Tour - Ex Sydney - Colourful Trips

    G'day Anna We're sorry to hear you were disappointed in your recent day trip to Canberra. Allow me to address some of the negative comments you have made here. You are correct that the tour description says you will receive free time in either the National Art Gallery or the National Museum. groups do in fact receive free time in EITHER of these venues, not BOTH. Depending on the interests of the group on the day, time spent in traffic traveling, and whether or not the venues have availability due to private functions etc, the guide on the day makes the decision as to which venue it will be. It's good to hear Tom was able to fit in both due to your request on the day. All of our guides are across all aspects of Australian history and culture, and we do not expect them to experts on any given topic, so we can understand your disappointment in not receiving the in-depth information on Australian politics that were hoping for. With regards to his perfume, we do ask that our guides are conscious about their own body odor, and driving large buses in the Australian Summer can be a very demanding job. Perhaps Tom applied a little too much on the day, but we can assure you, it was not a deliberate attempt to cause any individuals discomfort on the day. You are also correct in that our tour is designed to showcase the highlights of Canberra in a single day, for those who may only have 1 day to do so. We do recommend people who want a more in-depth look at the city, to stay for a few days, and it sounds like this would have been your ideal situation, but for whatever reason, you chose to do it in 1 day. We hope you are able to return to Canberra on your own, and spend more time there.

    Darren from New Zealand wrote on 21 July 2019

    Day out in Act Canberra

    Our Guide (Peter) was awesome, Mt Ainsley, Parliament building complex, Oz museum, and Oz War Memorial, were well worth it.. Had a fabulous time. Would definitely recommend.

    Share Link

    This review helped me

    close

    10:00 a.m.Thursday 13 July

    Spaces Left

    Per Person

      *Option must be made together with another price type.
      close

      Qualmark Certification

      This award identifies a business with a high level of professionalism, a keen awareness of the impact it has on the environment and a commitment to a customer centric approach.

      This award is evidence of a sophisticated tourism business that consistently exceeds visitor expectations. Their proactive leadership and management ensure the business’s focus on continuously improving their economic, social and environmental performance to create genuine, constantly evolving and sustainable tourism experiences.

      This award recognises the best sustainable tourism businesses in New Zealand. It denotes exceptional customer experiences at the heart of everything the company does. This business is leading the way in making the New Zealand tourism industry a world class sustainable visitor destination.

      When you see the Qualmark logo, your activity of choice is endorsed by New Zealand Tourism’s official quality assurance organisation and backed by leaders in the industry. It’s your trusted guide to iconic activities and experiences that are awarded for their exceptionally high level of quality, safety and sustainability.

      Sample menu

      close
      delete

      Delete your content?

      This item will be deleted immediately. You can't undo this action.

      close
      playlist_add
      close
      question_answer