Sustainability Advisory Panel

Chaired by Sir Jonathon Porritt, our Sustainability Advisory Panel has six external members who were selected based on the range of skills and expertise we considered necessary to shape and inform a pioneering sustainability agenda.
Sustainability Advisory Panel Sir Jonathan Porritt.

Sir Jonathon Porritt (United Kingdom), Founder Director of Forum for the Future, UK, Advisory Panel Chair and sustainability thought leader

Sir Jonathon Porritt, co-founder of Forum for the Future, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development. Established in 1996, Forum for the Future is now the UK’s leading sustainable development charity, with a growing presence in the United States, India, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He was formerly Director of Friends of the Earth, co-chair of the UK Green Party, and as Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission until 2009, he spent nine years providing high-level advice to Government Ministers. Sir Jonathan was installed as the Chancellor of Keele University in February 2002. He is also Visiting Professor at Loughborough University and UCL. Recent books are 'Capitalism as if the World Matters' (2007) and 'the World We Made' (2013) - which seeks to inspire people about the prospects of a sustainable world in 2050. Sir Jonathon received a CBE in January 2000 for services to environmental protection.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dame Anne Salmond.

Dame Anne Salmond (New Zealand), New Zealand anthropologist and writer

Dame Anne Salmond is a New Zealand anthropologist and historian best known for her writings on New Zealand history, her study of Māori culture, and her efforts to improve intercultural understanding. In 2013, Dame Anne was named the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year and also won the Royal Society of New Zealand Rutherford Medal. Dame Anne has served as Chairwoman of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust Board. She is the only New Zealander to have been elected to both the British Academy and the National Academy of Sciences in the US.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Sir Rob Fenwick.

Sir Rob Fenwick KNZM KStJ (New Zealand), New Zealand entrepreneur, director, conservationist

Sir Rob Fenwick is the first New Zealander knighted for services to both business and conservation. He co-founded the New Zealand Business Council for Sustainable Development and New Zealand's first commercial composting business, Living Earth. He established and chairs Predator Free New Zealand, The Kiwi Trust. He also chair New Zealand Antarctic Research Institute and Sustainable Seas – a National Science Challenge. He is a founding member of the Air New Zealand Environment Trust and a director of Ngāti Whātua o Ōrākei's commercial holdings. Sir Rob has an honorary doctorate in Natural Resources from Lincoln University, and the Fenwick Ice Piemont in Antarctica is named for him. He was the 2015 Sir Peter Blake Medallist and was inducted to the NZ Business Hall of Fame in 2016.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dr Susanne Becken.

Dr Susanne Becken (Australia), Director of Griffith Institute for Tourism and Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Griffith University, Australia

Susanne is a globally recognised expert in the field of sustainable tourism, in particular climate change, resource management, resilience, and environmental behaviour. Her published research is widely cited by academics around the world and has also influenced government policy and industry practice. Susanne acted as a contributing author to the Fourth and Fifth IPCC Assessment Reports of the Intergovernmental Panel of Climate Change and represented Asia-Pacific on the World Meteorological Organisation's Expert Team on Climate and Tourism. Susanna has undertaken consultancy work for a range of Government organisations, the United Nations and industry and contributed to linking academic theory with sustainable business and tourism management. In 2015-2016, Susanne was part of the Great Barrier Reef Water Sciences Ministerial Taskforce to advise the Queensland Government on implementing major water quality projects.

Suzi Kerr, Sustainability Advisory Panel

Dr Suzi Kerr (New Zealand), Economist and senior fellow at Motu, adjunct professor Victoria University

Dr Suzi Kerr is a Senior Fellow at Motu Economic and Public Policy Research and an adjunct professor at Victoria University. Her current research on domestic and international climate change policy focuses on emissions pricing and land use. She also leads work on climate change impacts and adaptation in New Zealand.

She has previously worked on economic instruments for managing water quality, fisheries and air quality and run policy dialogue processes in the lead up to the establishment of New Zealand's emissions trading system, agricultural greenhouse gas emissions and New Zealand's Low Emissions Future. She is currently leads the Deep South National Science Challenge Impacts and Implications programme. She holds a PhD in economics from Harvard University and won the NZIER Economics Award in 2010.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Tim Jackson.

Professor Tim Jackson (United Kingdom), Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Surrey, Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity

Tim Jackson is Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP) funded by the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey in the UK. CUSP builds on Tim's vision over three decades to explore the moral, social, political and economic dimensions of prosperity on a finite planet. He's advised numerous governments and UN agencies on sustainability. Between 2004 and 2011, Tim was Economics Commissioner on the UK Sustainable Development Commission, where his work culminated in the publication of his controversial book Prosperity without Growth (Routledge 2017). In 2016, he was awarded the Hillary Laureate for exceptional international leadership. In addition to his academic work, Tim is an award-winning dramatist with numerous radio-writing credits for the BBC.