COVID-19: Travel restrictions for Pacific Island destinations

Cook Islands

The Cook Islands Government have notified us that effective from 11:59 pm Sunday 30 August the following people are able to enter the Cook Islands:

  • Cook Islanders
  • Permanent Residents of the Cook Islands
  • Cook Islands work permit holders
  • Cook Islands resident permit holders

Provided the following entry criteria is met:

  • You have spent the last 14 days in New Zealand prior to entry into the Cook Islands.
  • You have confirmation of medical clearance from Te Marae Ora-Ministry of Health, verifying negative COVID-19 test result within 4 days of travel to the Cook Islands.
  • You comply with the Clinical and Medical criteria to be administered by Te Marae Ora and you agree to supervised quarantine in a pre-approved residence on arrival into Rarotonga for a period of 14 days.

If you meet the entry criteria, please email the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Immigration for approval:

For more information, please refer to the Cook Islands COVID-19 Government website.


From Friday, 12 June we are supporting the Fijian government with help to repatriate Fijian citizens and passport holders who are currently stranded in New Zealand.

Eligible customers can now make a travel booking online. Please note that you must provide documented confirmation of a COVID-19 test returning a negative result, within three days before travel. We encourage all customers to keep updated with the latest changes by visiting for further information.

French Polynesia and New Caledonia

Air New Zealand flights to the overseas French territory of New Caledonia (Noumea), and overseas Collectivity of French Polynesia (Papeete) are currently suspended until further notice.

Both Governments are managing travel through special repatriation flights. If you require information on travel to these countries, please check their official websites.


Travel to Niue is restricted to repatriating residents of Niue and essential services people who have received advance approval from the Niue Government for travel.

All arriving travellers will undergo supervised quarantine for 14 days at government-appointed accommodation in Niue.

A limit of 15 people are permitted to enter Niue per flight, until the Niue Government advise otherwise.

Travellers who require Government approval for travel are asked to email the Niue Office of External Affairs.


The Samoan Ministry of Health advises that Samoa's borders remain closed under a State of Emergency.

When restrictions allow, we will work to support the Samoan government with help to repatriate Samoan Citizens and Permanent and Temporary residents of Samoa, who are currently stranded in New Zealand.

Please continue to check here for updated information.


Tonga has a restriction affecting the entry of all passenger aircraft until further notice.

We are working closely with the Tongan Government and any changes to the restriction will be updated on this page.

For further COVID-19 related information for Tonga, please visit the Tongan Government website.