西海岸10日行程

西海岸旅行指南助力你探索南岛最原始天然的自然风光

正在计划一次南岛西海岸的公路旅行?这份西海岸十日行程将助力你实现完美的西海岸深度之旅。下滑查看行程详情,了解沿途可以欣赏的景点和活动。西海岸拥有原始不羁的自然风光,但是游客仍然可以在当地的小镇享受舒适的旅行体验。

1霍基蒂卡1天

乘坐新西兰航空的航班从基督城起飞,飞越南岛的大分水岭——雄伟壮观的南阿尔卑斯山,抵达霍基蒂卡(Hokitika)。这是一条景色堪称无与伦比的飞行航线。飞机着陆后,前往租车公司提车,开始你的霍基蒂卡探索之旅!

  • 如果想体验景色最美的霍基蒂卡步道,建议你驱车前往霍基蒂卡峡谷(Hokitika Gorge),在那里可以看到乳蓝色的霍基蒂卡河,宛如一条嵌入在峡谷之间的玉带,景色如画。这条短途步道还会途经一座荡桥。
  • 在霍基蒂卡玻璃工艺工作室(Hokitika Glass Studio)观赏艺术品制作。这间工作室从20世纪70年代开始由两名瑞典玻璃吹制家经营。
  • 在霍基蒂卡海滩最具代表性的浮木雕塑拍照留影。每次风暴过后,雕塑的创作者唐·尼尔(Don Neale)都会将雕塑重新组合一次,所以雕塑的造型会不断变化。
  • 在霍基蒂卡三明治公司(Hokitika Sandwich Company)享用精致午餐。这里选用的所有食材均产自新西兰本地,所以你可以在这里品尝到地道的新西兰美食。
  • 如果你会在三月份来到西海岸,不妨将霍基蒂卡野味节(Hokitika Wildfoods Festival)纳入你的行程计划。建议提前查看网站,了解野味节的具体日期。
  • 晚上可以在霍基蒂卡住宿,或驱车至雷夫顿(Reefton)住宿。
    2雷夫顿1天

    雷夫顿(Reefton)是一个保存完好的历史小镇,历史悠久。19世纪60年代,随着含石英珊瑚礁在该地区被发现,雷夫顿成为了南半球第一个开始用电照明的城镇。雷夫顿有很多景点活动,建议预留一整天的时间在这里慢慢感受。

    • 你可以在Bearded Miners聆听雷夫顿的采矿历史。位于百老汇街(Broadway St)和沃尔什街(Walsh Street)拐角处的矿工小屋将让你穿越回19世纪60年代,可以在这里喝一杯比利茶,亲手尝试淘金,感受小镇的历史。
    • 参观雷夫顿蒸馏厂(Reefton Distilling Company),深入了解酿造精品烈酒的世界。这里出产取材于西海岸雨林的杜松子酒、伏特加和水果利口酒。参观酒厂之后,还可以感受一番品酒的乐趣。
    • 在维多利亚森林公园(Victoria Forest Park)体验一段徒步旅行。其中,普罗格雷斯水道(Progress Water Race)是较长的一条步道,英加胡阿吊桥(Inangahua suspension bridge)和金铅电池(Golden Lead Batter)是沿途的亮点。
    • 在雷夫顿住宿推荐雷夫别墅B & B(Reef Cottage B & B),这栋建筑始建于19世纪70年代,当时是一间律师事务所。现在每间豪华客房内都带独立的卫浴间。旁边即是雷夫别墅咖啡屋(Reef Cottage Café),不妨在历史悠久的餐厅内享用一顿美餐或糕点。
      3布勒峡谷,西港和丹尼斯顿1天

      横穿布勒峡谷(Buller Gorge)的道路是新西兰风景最优美的公路之一。这里被称为“有着令人眩晕的美景”,所以一定要预留在沿途拍照的时间。

      • 你可以提前查看布勒峡谷吊桥探险和遗产公园(Buller Gorge Swingbridge Adventure and Heritage Park的网站,了解可以体验的景点活动。走过新西兰最长的吊桥,横跨水花翻滚的布勒河,在河边淘金,或徒步穿越鸟鸣嘤嘤的原始森林。如果你喜欢冒险活动,推荐上榜《孤独星球》最佳活动的布勒峡谷喷射快艇(Buller Canyon Jet Boat),或是快速飞越布勒河的高空飞锁(Comet-Line)。
      • 沿着布勒峡谷公路向西行驶,抵达西港(Westport),这是一个见证了淘金热和煤矿开采热潮的小镇。如果你对采矿历史有兴趣,推荐参观煤城博物馆(Coaltown Museum)。
      • 距离西港仅半小时的丹尼斯顿高原(Denniston Plateau)至今仍然拥有新西兰最丰富、最高质量的煤层。早在19世纪后期,这里就是一处繁荣的煤矿社区。当时前往高原的唯一交通工具是沿着著名的丹尼斯顿登山铁路乘坐煤桶一路攀岩而上。这条铁路在长1.7公里的过程中攀高510米,曾被称为"世界第八大奇迹"。如今,我们可以轻松驾车抵达丹尼斯顿,但是当年的交通往来却是十分艰辛和不便。
      • 当晚建议在Rough & Tumble Bush Lodge住宿,这里既保留了原始的自然风光,又为游客提供了舒适的休闲享受。这间度假屋位于老鬼路(Old Ghost Road北侧,所以也是徒步游客和自行车骑游游客常驻的大本营。度假屋在莫基希努伊河(Mokihinui River)旁修建了热水淋浴设施,这是享受大自然的终极体验!
        4老鬼路自行车道和步道1天

        老鬼路(Old Ghost Road)是新西兰最新的山地自行车道和步道,是新西兰人乐观进取精神的最佳写照。因为这里地形颇具挑战,整个道路的修建耗时数年才真正完工。虽然过程艰辛,但是沿途风景蔚为壮观。

        • 你可以在度假屋享用早餐,之后买好午餐打包上路,在老鬼路上享受一天的美景。
        • 老鬼路为山地自行车骑游爱好者和高级徒步旅行者提供绝佳的越野体验。沿途有舒适的小屋可供过夜,但这些小屋必须提前预订。这条被遗忘的淘金者之路被称为一座85公里长的户外博物馆。沿途有四个被称作“鬼城”的小镇
        • 从Rough & Tumble度假屋出发,沿着老鬼路可以体验一天的徒步旅行,有的游客可以走10公里之后再返回,你可以根据自身情况选择步行距离。傍晚可以在度假屋享用一顿丰盛的晚餐。景色优美的莫基希努伊河在整天的徒步途中都可以看到。
          5奥帕拉拉盆地溶洞与拱门1天

          石灰岩在经过数百年的冲刷后形成了奥帕拉拉盆地(Oparara Basin)如今的地貌。大多数的景色可以免费参观。但是如果想深入探索错综复杂的溶洞内部,需要参加带导游的观光团。

          • 推荐参加奥帕拉拉观光体验团(The Oparara Experience)。在导游的带领下探索蜂巢山洞穴(Honeycomb Hill Cave)地下秘境,这里只有经过环保部的批准才能进入。即使你之前游览过其他溶洞,当你步入这里的溶洞后还是会为之惊叹不已。在这里可以看到由微生物和方解石沉积物组合形成的月奶石;形似大象脚的奇特钟乳石;经过成千上万年的水花积聚而形成的盆缘石灰石池;由精致的方解石而形成的洞穴珊瑚。
          • 世界著名的奥帕拉拉石灰石拱门可供游客自由观赏,步行即可轻松抵达。奥帕拉拉拱门是一处高43米、宽90米的天然隧道。其中的茅瑞亚拱门(Moria Gate)最为壮观,宛如一条通至地下《指环王》王国的入口。
          • 当晚住宿推荐卡拉米亚河汽车旅馆(Karamea River Motels)或拉斯特度假村(Last Resort)。有多种住宿形式可供选择,还有酒吧和餐厅可供用餐。
            6卡胡朗伊国家公园1天

            卡胡朗伊(Kahurangi)是新西兰第二大国家公园,拥有丰富多样的自然景观,从点缀着棕榈树的金色沙滩到雄伟壮丽的高山和深不可测的溶洞。从卡拉米亚(Karamea)出发,可以在国家公园花上一整天的时间探索其中。

            • 希菲步道(Heaphy Track)是新西兰九大步道之一,适合进行多日的自行车骑行或徒步旅行。沿途的斯科特斯海滩(Scotts Beach)是一大亮点,这里有金色的沙滩和尼考棕榈树林。
            • 当地的卡拉米亚包机公司(Air Charter Karamea有两架固定翼飞机,包括罕见的哈维兰“海狸”水上飞机。如果你准备徒步或骑车游览希菲步道全程,他们可以将你送至科灵伍德入口(Collingwood End),并为游客安全保管车辆。或者,你也可以直接乘飞机飞越步道,从上空欣赏美景。
            • 卡拉米亚的住宿选择包括舒适的卡拉米亚汽车旅馆(Karamea Motels)或拉斯特度假村(Last Resort),可以选择背包客房间或自助式客房,还有酒吧和餐厅可供用餐。
              7普纳凯基1天

              在普纳凯基(Punakaiki)的景点活动包括在国家公园划皮划艇、骑马或徒步旅行,在千层岩观赏喷水孔爆发的壮观景象。经过一整天的户外活动,你可以在普纳凯基找到舒适的过夜住宿设施。

              • 建议在涨潮时参观普纳凯基千层岩(Punakaiki Pancake Rocks),可以看到喷水孔爆发的壮观景象。涨潮期间,大量海水冲入石灰岩的裂缝,激起巨大的水柱和喷雾。建议最好携带防水照相机。
              • 普纳凯基千层岩宏伟壮观,是令人惊叹不已的天然艺术品。你看到的一层一层的硬岩中间夹着的是较软的岩石。由于较软的岩石会被更快地侵蚀,所以才会呈现出宛如煎饼堆积在一起的样子。
              • 普纳凯基是前往帕帕罗瓦国家公园(Paparoa National Park)进行徒步旅行的门户。这里有古老的喀斯特地貌景观,包括溶洞、灰岩坑、峡谷和地下溪流。在地上,可以欣赏到国家公园郁郁葱葱的棕榈树和天然雨林。如果你的时间有限,不妨体验杜鲁门步道(Truman Track),往返仅需30分钟
              • 你可以在普纳凯基独木舟(Punakaiki Canoe)租一艘皮划艇,游览景色迷人的保罗拉河(Pororari River),这里的河水平静,很容易划桨。这是深入探索帕帕罗瓦国家公园的简便路径。
              • 当晚可以入住普纳凯基客栈(Punakaiki Tavern)的舒适客房。客栈的餐厅供应丰盛的酒吧美食,设有台球桌、飞镖和点唱机,可供住客娱乐。
                8格雷茅斯1天

                格雷茅斯(Greymouth)的景点活动包括探寻历史遗址,品鉴啤酒和体验淘金格雷茅斯镇始建于19世纪60年代,小镇有着许多历史建筑,是从基督城出发的高山观景火车之旅的终点站。

                • 参观蒙蒂斯啤酒厂(Monteith's Brewery),你将收获丰富的关于酿造啤酒的知识。在这里还能品尝蒙蒂斯啤酒以及适合搭配啤酒的美味小菜。
                • 沿着格雷茅斯的海洋海滩(Ocean Beach)散步,让人神清气爽。欣赏海滩上的浮木和辽阔的塔斯曼海海景,寻找美丽的鹅卵石。运气好的话,也许还能捡到绿玉!
                • 在仙蒂镇历史公园(Shantytown Heritage Park)了解淘金热时代的航海故事。在这里可以亲自尝试淘金,或乘坐蒸汽火车,深受小朋友的喜爱。

                当晚可以选择在格雷茅斯住宿过夜,或者继续南下,在弗朗兹约瑟夫冰川(Franz Josef Glacier)或福克斯冰川(Fox Glacier)住宿。

                  9探索冰川2天

                  位于西海岸的弗朗兹约瑟夫冰川(Franz Josef Glacier)或福克斯冰川(Fox Glacier)是世界上最容易抵达的冰川。这两条由大块的冰和雪块组成的冰川绵延数英里,沿途经过新西兰最高大的南阿尔卑斯山和繁盛茂密的温带雨林。附近以冰川命名的城镇提供一系列的住宿和餐饮服务。附近的奥卡里托泻湖(Okarito Lagoon)是该地区的著名自然景点之一。

                  • 游客可以免费游览,并步行至弗朗兹约瑟夫冰川的终端湖。世界上很少有冰川流向如此低海拔的地方。
                  • 如果参加带导游的冰川徒步和直升机徒步,则可以直接抵达冰川的表面。跟随导游可以探索深冰峡谷、冰隙和冰穴,近距离聆听冰河流动的声音。
                  • 在西海岸的冰川地区可以体验到新西兰最棒的跳伞体验。跳伞前会首先乘坐飞机飞至一定高度,可以从高空一览南阿尔卑斯山的壮美景色。
                  • 坐落于雨林中的弗朗兹约瑟夫冰川温泉(Franz Josef Glacier Hot Pools)是放松身心的绝佳选择。
                  • 位于马瑟森湖(Lake Matheson的阿拉凯劳玛蒂环形步道(Te Ara Kairaumati loop track是新西兰景色最美的短途步道之一。在风和日丽的天气,马瑟森湖将完整倒影出新西兰最高山峰——库克山的壮丽景色。
                  • 在奥卡里托泻湖上划皮划艇,沉浸在新西兰原始天然的湿地美景中。你可以参加带导游的游览活动,也可以自行游览。

                    继续探索西海岸

West Coast itinerary for 10 days

Get to know some of the wildest places in the South Island with this itinerary-style West Coast travel guide.

Are you looking for a West Coast road trip itinerary? You've come to the right place. Scroll down to see how you can embrace the wilderness and adventure that makes this part of New Zealand like nowhere you've been before. The landscape is beautifully untouched, but you'll still enjoy creature comforts in the friendly towns that help you to connect the dots while you're travelling.

1Hokitika1 day

Your Air New Zealand flight from Christchurch over the great divide to Hokitika will reveal the grandeur of the Southern Alps - it's one of our most scenic routes. Once you're on the ground, pick up your rental car and start exploring Hokitika.

  • For the best of Hokitika walks, drive to Hokitika Gorge to see the extraordinary turquoise water of the Hokitika River as it squeezes through a picturesque canyon. There's a great swing bridge on this easy hike
  • Watch art in action at the Hokitika Glass Studio. It all began in the 1970s, when two Swedish glassblowers decided to call Hokitika home
  • Head down to Hokitika Beach to photograph the iconic driftwood sculpture that spells Hokitika on the sand. The creator of the sign, Don Neale, puts it back together after every storm, so it's always evolving
  • Eat at the Hokitika Sandwich Company, where you can enjoy the fine-dining equivalent of a sandwich lunch. Everything's locally sourced or made in New Zealand - you're getting a bite of Kiwi culture at its most delicious
  • If you're exploring the West Coast in March, see if you can incorporate the Hokitika Wildfoods Festival into your plans. Check their website for the date
  • Stay tonight in Hokitika or drive to accommodation in Reefton
    2Reefton1 day

    Reefton is a beautifully preserved heritage town with a rich history. It was founded during the 1860s, when gold-bearing quartz reefs were discovered in the area, and it was the first town in the southern hemisphere to light up with electricity. There are plenty of things to do in Reefton, so allow a whole day to get fully immersed.

    • Stop for a chat with the Bearded Miners, the rustic gentlemen who bring the Reefton gold mining days to life. Located on the corner of Broadway and Walsh Street, their replica 1860s hut is the place for a cup of billy tea, a try at gold panning and a yarn about the town's past
    • Spend a couple of hours delving into the world of boutique spirits at the Reefton Distilling Company, where the flavours of West Coast rainforest are captured in extraordinary gin, vodka and fruit liqueurs. You can tour the distillery, then work your way through an unforgettable tasting
    • Take a hike on one of Reefton's many walking tracks in Victoria Forest Park. The Inangahua suspension bridge and the Golden Lead Battery are highlights of the Progress Water Race route, one of the longer hikes
    • A great example of Reefton accommodation is Reef Cottage B & B, originally an 1870s lawyer's office, where every sumptuous room has its own private bathroom. Right next door is Reef Cottage Café, for glorious meals and cakes in a heritage dining room
      3Buller Gorge, Westport and Denniston1 day

      The road through the Buller Gorge is one of New Zealand's most scenic drives (or rides, if you're on some kind of bike). It has been described as 'insanely picturesque' so allow time for photo stops.

      • Call into the Buller Gorge Swingbridge Adventure and Heritage Park for a choice of cool things to do. You can cross the roaring Buller River on New Zealand's longest swing bridge, pan for gold at the river's edge and hike through native forests that are chirping with bird life. For thrills, there's the Buller Canyon Jet Boat (Lonely Planet reckons it's up there with the best) and the Comet-Line for a high speed return trip across the river
      • Drive west along the Buller Gorge road down to Westport, a town that's seen gold rushes and coal mining booms. Check out Coaltown Museum if you're interested in mining
      • Just half an hour north from Westport is the Denniston Plateau, which still boasts one of the richest, high quality coal seams in New Zealand. Back in the late 1800s, there was a thriving coal mining community up here. The only transport to the plateau was a wild ride in a coal bucket up the famous Denniston incline railway. Gaining 510 metres in 1.7 kilometres, this rail system was sometimes called 'the 8th wonder of the world'. Today you can drive there and imagine life in the days of the Denniston mine
      • Stay tonight at Rough & Tumble Bush Lodge, a retreat that gives you the best of both worlds - wilderness and comfort. This lodge is at the northern end of the Old Ghost Road, so it's often used as a launch or finish point for hikers and mountain bikers. Check out their hot outdoor shower alongside the rushing Mokihinui River - the ultimate in rustic bliss!
        4Old Ghost Road cycle trail and walk1 day

        One of New Zealand's newest mountain biking or hiking adventures, the Old Ghost Road is a testament to Kiwi can-do. It took years to complete, because the terrain is more than a bit challenging, but the result is magnificent.

        • After a generous lodge breakfast, gather up your packed lunch from the Rough & Tumble kitchen team and enjoy a day in the wilderness exploring the Old Ghost Road
        • The Old Ghost Road track is an off-road adventure for advanced mountain bikers and fit hikers. There are comfortable huts along the way for overnighting, but these must be booked well ahead of time. This forgotten gold-miner's road has been described as an 85km-long outdoor museum. There are four ghost towns to discover along the way
        • From the Rough & Tumble end of the trail, Old Ghost Road makes a satisfying day walk - head in for about 10k (or as far as you want to go), then back out again in time for a hearty lodge dinner. For much of the day, the beautiful Mokihinui River will be your companion
          5Oparara Basin caves and arches1 day

          Oparara Basin is a wonderland of limestone phenomena that has been beautifully crafted by nature over millions of years. Some of the sights are free to see; for others you need a guide, because you'll be venturing into extensive cave systems.

          • Explore the underworld on a guided caving adventure with Oparara Experience. You'll vanish below ground into Honeycomb Hill Cave, which can only be accessed with Department of Conservation approval. Even if you're an experienced caver, you'll see things here that are surprising: moonmilk, a combination of micro-organisms and calcite deposits; elephants' feet, an unusual type of stalactite; rimstone pools, formed by millions of water splashes; and cave coral, an exquisitely delicate calcite formation
          • Oparara's world-famous limestone arches are free to view and easily discovered on foot. The biggest is Oparara Arch, an epic natural tunnel that's 43 metres high and nearly 90 metres wide; the most beautiful is Moria Gate, which looks like the entrance into a subterranean Lord of the Rings realm
          • Stay tonight at cosy Karamea River Motels or the Last Resort, which has a range of accommodation styles, a bar and a restaurant
            6Kahurangi National Park 1 day

            The second-largest of New Zealand's national parks, Kahurangi has a hugely-diverse range of landscapes - from golden-sand beaches with palm trees through to alpine environments and caves. From Karamea you can easily dip into the park for a day.

            • The Heaphy Track is a magnificent multi-day biking or hiking adventure - one of New Zealand's Great Walks. But you don't have to do the whole thing to enjoy some of its amazing places. From the Karamea end, the Heaphy makes a great day walk or ride. A highlight is beautiful Scotts Beach with its golden sand and nikau palm groves
            • Local company Air Charter Karamea has two fix-wing planes, including a rare de Havilland Beaver. If you're planning to walk or ride the entire Heaphy Track, they can drop you at the Collingwood End and keep your car safe until you emerge at the Karamea end. Alternatively, they'll fly you over the track so you can see the whole thing from the air
            • Karamea accommodation choices include cosy Karamea Motels or the Last Resort, which has a range of options, from backpacker rooms to self-catering units, plus a bar and restaurant
              7Punakaiki1 day

              Things to do in Punakaiki range from kayak trips and horse treks to hiking in the national park and watching the blowholes erupt at the pancake rocks. After a day of outdoorsy excitement, you can settle down for the night in some cosy Punakaiki accommodation.

              • Try to time your visit to Punakaiki Pancake Rocks for high tide, because that's when the blowholes are going wild. As the sea surges in, water is forced up cracks and fissures in the limestone to emerge as sudden blasts of mist and spray. Best if your camera is waterproof for photographing this action!
              • The Punakaiki rocks are an astounding natural artwork. What you're seeing is layer-upon-layer of hard rock interspersed with softer rock. The soft rock erodes faster, creating the stack-of-pancakes effect
              • Punakaiki is the gateway to hiking adventures in the Paparoa National Park, an ancient karst landscape that's full of caves, sinkholes, canyons and underground streams. Above the ground the park is lush with nikau palms and native rainforest. If time's running short, the easy Truman Track is just 30 minutes return
              • You can rent kayaks from Punakaiki Canoes to explore the beautiful Pororari River, which is sedate and easy to paddle. This is an easy way to venture deep into the wilderness of the Paparoa National Park
              • Stay the night in one of the Punakaiki Tavern's comfy accommodation units. The tavern's restaurant serves hearty pub food and the bar is set up for fun with a pool table, darts and a juke box
                8Greymouth1 day

                Things to do in Greymouth revolve around history, beer and beach combing. Founded in the 1860s, this town has many heritage buildings and is the terminal point for the TranzAlpine train service from Christchurch.

                • A tour of Monteith's Brewery will set you up to become a craft beer expert, so that you can drive your friends crazy with your in-depth knowledge of all things hoppy and beerish. After a tasting of Monteith's best, enjoy a menu that's brimming with beer-friendly food
                • Clear your head with a walk along Greymouth's Ocean Beach. Admire the driftwood, watch the Tasman Sea rolling in and look for beautiful pebbles. Who knows, you might find a hunk of greenstone?
                • See how coasters used to live in the gold rush days at Shantytown Heritage Park. Kids love this place because they can pan for gold and ride on a real steam train
                • Spend the night at Greymouth accommodation or continue your journey south, staying at either Franz Josef Glacier or Fox Glacier
                  9The glaciers2 days

                  The West Coasts' glaciers - Franz Josef and Fox - are among the most accessible glaciers in the world. They emerge from valleys that begin high in the Southern Alps and descend into rainforest. Nearby towns, named for the glaciers, provide a range of accommodation and restaurants. Nearby Okarito Lagoon is another natural attraction in this area.

                  • For no charge you can walk to the terminal face of Franz Josef Glacier. Few glaciers in the world flow to such a low altitude
                  • Guided glacier walks and heli hikes get you onto the frozen surface of a glacier. You can explore deep ice canyons, crevasses and caves and be awed by the groaning sound of a moving river of ice
                  • The glacier region offers some of New Zealand's most spectacular skydive experiences. On the way up you'll get an awesome scenic flight; on the way down all the beauty of the Southern Alps will be rushing up to meet you
                  • Thaw out at any time at the Franz Josef Glacier Hot Pools, a blissful spa oasis in the rainforest
                  • The Te Ara Kairaumati loop track at Lake Matheson is one of New Zealand's best short hikes. On still days, the lake is a mirror for Mount Cook, New Zealand's tallest mountain
                  • Kayaking on Okarito Lagoon is a serene, meditative way to immerse yourself in the beauty of New Zealand's largest untouched wetland. Trips can be guided or self-guided

                    Keep exploring the West Coast